[Nameplate] Fair ~ 61°F  
High: 69°F ~ Low: 52°F
Wednesday, Apr. 1, 2015

Here's some semi-useful food for thought

Posted Thursday, January 12, 2012, at 6:47 PM

Well, since the return to regular-season basketball has arrived -- and since my colleague B.J. Hargis has thrown in his two cents on what went down in his latest column, I thought I would pass along a few tidbits.

The first thing I would like to pass along concerns the Bloomfield Cardinals and next year's Thanksgiving weekend.

According to BHS athletic director Ron McBride, the Cardinals will be hosting a four-team, one-day boys tournament at Glover Gymnasium.

While there's no official name to the event yet, McBride said he's excited about the tourney and looks forward to offering fans an exciting day of action.

The field will include the Cardinals, Vincennes Rivet, Paoli and Owen Valley.

McBride told me the event will take place with two games in the morning and two more in the evening.

He also said the school is still searching for a sponsor for the tournament, so if you're a local business who wants to help the Cardinals out, contact McBride.

I'm sure he'd be glad to discuss the project with you.

He also said the Eastern Greene vs. Bloomfield game, scheduled for the Saturday after Thanksgiving, will be moved but no date has yet been set.


Here's some interesting information for fans of high school football and more specifically the Wabash Valley Football Coaches Association All-Star Game.

The contest, which takes place each summer at Indiana State University's Memorial Stadium in Terre Haute, gives one last hurrah to area seniors, including those from Linton-Stockton and Union.

Miner head coach Steve Weber has once again been tagged to participate as the head coach of one of the teams.

Notice I didn't say the South All-Star Team?

Well that's because this year's event will be a draft format.

According to Weber, the coaches got together last month and decided to do this for several reasons with the most important being competitiveness.

The North has been the dominating team in the event winning the majority of the games.

In the past teams have been determined by geographic region. Now the coaches of each squad will "draft" players based on their school.

The coach of the Gold Team and the Black Team, no longer North vs. South, will select schools that are still available and the make-up of the teams will be more random and likely more balanced.

Weber also told me that he lost the coin flip and had to draft second. Which also meant that he got to choose first in the second round, earning back-to-back picks in every other round.

We'll see how his luck turns out when the rosters are released later this spring/summer. (See related story this page).

The WVFCA also released their list of honorees for the 2011 season and four members of the Linton-Stockton Miners were named to the All-WVFCA squad along with three members of the organization's all-academic team.

Earning first team honors by a vote of the member coaches were quarterback Austin Karazsia and senior offensive lineman Tanner Butler.

Karazsia, a junior, etched his name at the top of the Linton-Stockton passing record books this past season to help lead the Miners to their sixth semistate appearance.

Butler was one of the key pieces of an offensive line that was an integral part of the gridiron success of the Miners.

A pair of defensive linemen were named second team by the WVFCA.

Named to that list were Linton-Stockton defensive stalwarts Blake Scharbrough and Ethan Lannan.

Earning the organization's academic honors were Karazsia, Dane Rupska and Nick Sparks.


A familiar voice to a lot of fans in the state of Indiana, particularly Indiana University fans, will be earning a special honor from the National Sportswriters and Sportscasters Association.

According to a press release from the National Football Foundation, Don Fischer was named the Sportscaster of the year for Indiana by the NSSA.

He joins 14 other football broadcasters honored for their work including fellow Big Ten Conference play-by-play voices Dave Eanet of Northwestern, Paul Keels of Ohio State and Matt LePay of Wisconsin.

And speaking of Indiana football, three new names will be added to the ledger of the Indiana Football Hall of Fame.

They are former Indiana University standout Eric DeBord, former Miami (Ohio) player Paul Schudel and former Ball State player Mark Surface.

Well, that's it for this time and I hope this gives you something to talk about around the water cooler this week.

Rick Curl is a sports writer for the Greene County Daily World. He can be reached at (812) 847-4487 or at rcurl@gcdailyworld.com.

Respond to this blog

Posting a comment requires free registration. If you already have an account, enter your username and password below. Otherwise, click here to register.


Password:  (Forgot your password?)

Your comments:
Please be respectful of others and try to stay on topic.

My View From the Cheap Seats
By Rick Curl
Recent posts
Blog RSS feed [Feed icon]
Comments RSS feed [Feed icon]
Send email to By Rick Curl