[Nameplate] Partly Cloudy ~ 48°F  
High: 64°F ~ Low: 48°F
Tuesday, May 3, 2016

County elected officials will be sworn in this week

Tuesday, December 25, 2012

Greene County elected officials will participate in a swearing-in ceremony Thursday morning -- three days before the new year.

The 10 a.m. ceremony, presided over by Circuit Court Judge Erik Allen and Superior Court Judge Dena Martin, will be in the Circuit Courtroom, located on the third floor of the Greene County Courthouse in Bloomfield.

Traditionally, family members and friends of the elected officials attend the ceremony, but the event is open to the public.

Participation in the public swearing-in ceremony is largely ceremonial and optional for the candidates. However, each is required to take an oath of office and sign the oath regardless if they participate in the public event or not, according to Judge Allen.

Judge Allen said it's important for him as a public official and the other candidates to participate in the ceremony.

"Basically, we conduct the ceremony just to give an opportunity to comply with the law and have the oath completed but also to recognize the folks that will be serving members of the public. Of course, the public is invited, the candidates and their families. It's just an opportunity to kind of celebrate the accomplishments of folks and recognize that and give publicity to the community so they recognize the different folks that are serving in the different capacities," Judge Allen commented.

Elected officials who have been invited to participate include: Circuit Judge Allen (R); County Treasurer Kelly Zimmerly(R); County Surveyor I.T. "Butch" Wright (R); District 1 County Commissioner Ed Michael (R); County Councilman at-Large Jerry Frye (R); County Councilman at Large Patti Jones (D); County Councilman at-Large Gregg Roudebush (R); and District 1 County Councilman Joe Huntington.

Light refreshments will be served following the ceremony.

"It's always an enjoyable time," Judge Allen added. "It's always a nice time to come and meet the candidates who are coming into office."

Elsewhere, the Worthington Council will meet at 9 a.m. on New Year's Day to elect officers and swear in new board member Mike McCafferty, who replaces Roudebush, who resigned to take an At-Large County Council position.

Huntington and McCafferty were selected in Republican Party caucuses on Thursday night.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: