Bloomfield Town Council elects president, SIDC representative

Tuesday, January 2, 2018
Scott Yoho (right) was appointed Bloomfield Town Council president while Bob Uland (left) was chosen to represent Bloomfield on the SIDC board the evening of Tuesday, Jan. 2.
By Kristen Inman

The Bloomfield Town Council met in regular session Tuesday, Jan. 2 at the fire station to address a brief agenda which included nominations for 2018 Council President and appointing a council member to represent Bloomfield on the Southern Indiana Development Commission (SIDC) board for 2018.

Bob Uland and David Harding nominated Scott Yoho, resulting in Yoho being re-appointed Council President. Uland was chosen to represent Bloomfield on the SIDC Board after being nominated by Yoho and Harding.

Bloomfield Town Marshal Kenneth Tharp reported 164 calls for the month of December and 2,121 calls for the year 2017.

Bloomfield Fire Chief Lee Baker reported 40 runs for the month of December. This included 24 EMA runs, nine alarms, two structures, four 10-50 PI’s (accidents resulting in personal injury) and one fatality. For the year of 2017, the Bloomfield Fire Department reported 354 calls.

Baker wanted to remind citizens not to leave lithium batteries on their chargers for too long, as they can melt and result in fires.

Jason Jackson of the Street Department said that leaf pickup efforts were finished in December with 32 and three-quarters worth of loads, and has received many favorable comments about the lights in the park.

“I want to reiterate a ‘thank you’ to the people who donated and volunteered to help put up the lights,” said Jackson.

Yoho added that private citizens, churches and local businesses donated lights for holiday decoration and a list of those who donated is in the works.

Jackson says that so far, thankfully, the cold weather has not affected wastewater.

The next regular meeting of the Bloomfield Town Council will be Tuesday, Feb. 6 at 6 p.m. at the fire department on Mill Street.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: