SWIAC names All-Conference teams

Wednesday, June 13, 2018

Southwestern Indiana Athletic Conference officials recently announced the All-Conference teams.

Linton-Stockton compiled a 7-0 record to earn top honors in SWIAC baseball, followed by Shakamak, 6-1; North Daviess, 5-2; Clay City, 3-4; Eastern-Greene, 2-5; North Central, 2-5; White River Valley, 2-5; and Bloomfield, 1-6.

The All-SWIAC baseball team is comprised of: Kip Fougerousse, Noah Woodward, Dane Witty, Cory Anderson, and Josh Pyne (pitcher), all of Linton; Lane Gilbert, Rylee Landry, Ethan Burdette, and Trevor Miller (P), Shakamak; Max Wesner, Landon Mokris, Som Berry, Chris Reed, and Trey Smith (P), North Daviess; Caden Cannon, Clay City; Jackson Rogers, Eastern, Blake Chatman and Isaac Bonacorsi, North Central; and Brayton Cornelius, WRV.

These players received All-SWIAC honorable mention honors for baseball: Jacob LaFary, Bailey Hasler, and Buddy Stone, Clay City; Caleb Hamilton, Eastern; and Jake King, Bloomfield.

Shakamak won its sectional only to lose 2-1 to Hauser in the Morristown Regional.

North Central won the SWIAC softball championship with a 6-1 record in conference play, followed by Linton, 5-2; North Daviess, 5-2; Shakamak, 5-2; Clay City, 3-4; WRV 2-5; Bloomfield, 1-6; and Eastern, 0-7.

Members of the All-SWIAC softball team are: Morgan Manning, Hannah Shroyer, Kaelee Moody, Madison Schofield and Erika Shroyer (P), North Central; Hannah Frady, Maggie Booe, and Ashlyn Ferree (P), Linton; Aundreya Corwin, Abby Sanders, Addison Wittmer, and Hunter Beuhler (P), North Daviess; Kaitlynne Gilbert, Morgan Yeryar, and Jona Lash (P), Shakamak; Charly Koehler and Elyssa Secrest, Clay City; Kassi Morrison, WRV; and Kenzie Morris (P), Bloomfield;

Those players earning honorable mention for softball were: Brantli Lannan, Linton; Libby Knepp, North Daviess; Maddeline Gilbert, Shakamak; Kelsey Moody, Bloomfield; and Lilly Prince, Eastern.

The Indiana Coaches of Girls Sports Association named Frady and Koehler to its Class 2A/1A All-State second team. Secrest and Beuhler were named to the Class 2A/1A All-State third team.

Booe and Sarah Yoder of North Daviess were named to the ICGSA Academic All-State team. Alexis James of Linton and Wittmer made the Academic All-State second team.

North Central won the Clay City Sectional and reached the state 1A championship last Saturday only to fall 10-1 to Pioneer. Linton won the South Knox Sectional, but lost the regional at home. North Daviess won its sectional and regional only to lose 10-0 to Lanesville in the semistate.

Girls earning All-SWIAC honors for track were: Andrea Steward* (CC), 100-meter dash and 4X100 relay; Avalee Jeffers* (CC), 300-meter hurdles and 4X100 relay; Emily Hyatt* (CC) 4X100 relay; Hannah Colburn* (CC), 4X100 relay; Emma Stichter (E), 800-meter run, 4X800 relay, and 4X400 relay; Farrah Young (E), 4X800 relay and 4X400 relay; Jessica DeFord (E), 4X800 relay, and 4X400 relay; Shelley Tarr (E), 4X400 relay; Sierra Ford (E), 4X800 relay; Caroline Wilson* (L), 100-meter hurdles and high jump; Claire Hockman (L), pole vault; Skyler Tucker* (L), 200-meter dash, 400-meter dash, and long jump; Vanessa Shafford* (L), discus; Jacy Collins* (S), 1600- and 3200-meter runs; and Haley Jones (WRV), shot put.

Wilson and Tucker shared high-point honors for the girls.

Honorable mention accolades were bestowed upon Phoenix Pena, Shakamak; Alexis Laswell*, Clay City; Christiane Davis* and Jailyn Lundy*, WRV, and Lilly Vandermel* (ND).

Athletes with asterisks after their names reached the Bloomington North Regional. Wilson and Jeffers competed in the high jump at the state track meet.

The All-SWIAC boys track team is comprised of: Bryce Patterson* (CC), 100; Calvin Fry* (CC), 4X800 relay; Carter Dickson (CC), 4X800 relay; Devin Thurmond* (CC), long jump and 200; Eli Hosteler* (CC), high jump and 4X800 relay; Kyle Wolfe* (CC), 4X800 relay and pole vault; Austin Bixler (E), 4X100 relay and 4X400 relay; Cayden Sego (E), 4X100 relay; Ethan Helton* (E), 400; Issiah Thornton (E), 4X100 relay and 4X400 relay; Jaden Evans* (E), 4X100 relay and 4X400 relay; Jaysce Skinner* (E), 110-meter hurdles; Cameron Parola (L), 1600 and 800; Luke Lannon (L) 300-meter hurdles; Joe Records (WRV), 3200; and Eddie Garcia* (WRV), shot put and discus.

Skinner finished as the high-point athlete for the boys.

Boys receiving honorable mention honors were Tanner Denham, WRV; Lance Dyer, Linton, Dmitrius Owens*, North Daviess; Dawson Basinger, North Central; and Silas Robbins, Linton.

Levi Sciscoe (E), discus; Evan Slover (L), pole vault; and Lintonís 4X800 team of Cameron Parola, Lincoln Hale, Austin Gordon, and Alec Mossburger also qualified for the regional.

Jeff Oliver, WRV, and Jaci Stone, Shakamak, earned All-SWIAC honors for junior high track.

Tennis players earning All-SWIAC honors were singles players Kylee Shelton (B), first place; Malea Toon (B), and Brooklyn Bucher (B) and the doubles teams of Haydyn House and Reghan Moody (L), first, and Maizy Gilliland and E.J. Priest (B). Netters receiving honorable mention were Ellie Brewer (L) and Kristin Lee and Lexi Graves (WRV).

SWIAC officials noted that not only did Bloomfield win the conference meet, the Lady Cardinals won the North Daviess sectional. They lost to Barr-Reeve in the Jasper Regional.

Members of the All-SWIAC golf team were Justin Hopkins, Tyler Yocom, and Drew Steward, Clay City; Brady Smith, Linton; and Alex Wolfe, WRV. Golfers receiving All-SWIAC honorable mention were: Rhys Horn, Clay City; Sammy Robbins, Linton; Devin Moss, Eastern; and Turner Royal, Bloomfield. Carter Myers of Clay City was named to the Academic All-State golf team.

Hopkins shot a 78 to earn low-medal honors. Clay City golfers won the SWIAC meet for the second straight year by shooting a 333, followed by Linton, 352; WRV, 380; Shakamak, 416; Eastern, 417; North Daviess, 447; and Bloomfield, 467. The Eels also advanced to the regional.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: