Basketball SWIAC teams announced

Thursday, March 7, 2024
Linton's junior Addisyn McKee and seniors Sydney Jerrells and Bradie Chambers made the All-SWIAC team.
Photos by Luke Morey.

Basketball has concluded around Greene County, with the awards and accolades for the season flowing in for basketball players.

The Southwestern Indiana Athletic Conference announced their All-Conference teams this week, with 20 athletes from Greene County schools being named to the team, with another nine named honorable mentions.

For the girls team, Linton and North Central had the most athletes on the team, each landing three on the All-Conference team.

For Linton, seniors Bradie Chambers and Sydney Jerrells were joined by junior Addisyn McKee.

The Lady Miners compiled a 20-8 record over the year, playing in the first semi-state game against Brownstown Central, who would end as 2A State runners-up.

Eastern Greene seniors Keylee Hudson and Mallorie Elliott were also named to the team as the Lady T-Birds went 13-11 this year.

Hudson leaves Eastern Greene as the programís all time leading scorer with 1,187 career points.

Shakamak junior Elayni Stone and sophomore Madelyn Kennett were also named All-Conference as they guided the Lady Lakers to an 18-7 year, falling in the sectional title game.

White River Valley juniors Izzy Avila and Brynna Walton were also named to the All-Conference team after an 11-12 season.

Honorable mentions included Bloomfield senior Jaeden Mietus, Eastern Greene senior Bianca Wyatt, Linton junior Bella Franklin, Shakamak junior Chase Hammond and WRV junior Reese Graves.

For the boys team, Linton and Shakamak tied with Clay City, each having three players named All-Conference.

For Linton, sophomores Paul Oliver, Conner Daily and Jackson Miller were named All-Conference.

The Miners went 18-5 in their first year under Head Coach Matt Britton.

For Shakamak, seniors JT May and Will Miller were joined by sophomore Jaden Johnson on the All-Conference team.

The Lakers went 13-10 as JT May leaves Shakamak with 1,457 career points.

Bloomfield junior Lance Workman and sophomore Blake Neill were named All-Conference after a 13-14 year that saw them fall in the sectional title game.

For Eastern Greene, junior Will Inman and freshman Coby Sykes were named to the All-Conference team after a 5-19 season.

WRV senior Max Hostetter was named All-Conference after a 8-16 season in their first year under Head Coach Levi Hostetter.

WRV also had senior Kobe Morehouse and junior Lane Davis as honorable mentions, joined by Bloomfield junior Tucker Lent and Linton senior Jamison Fields.

Both May and Hudson were named All-SWIAC each of their four years, while Chambers, Jerrells and Stone have now been named to the All-Conference team each of the last three years.

McKee, Neill and Inman have now made two straight All-Conference teams.

SWIAC team, boys

Blake Neill, Bloomfield

Lance Workman, Bloomfield

Ethan Edwards, Clay City

Bryce Wiram, Clay City

Zain Keller, Clay City

Will Inman, Eastern Greene

Coby Sykes, Eastern Greene

Paul Oliver, Linton

Conner Daily, Lintoon

Jackson Miller, Linton

Collin Lengacher, North Daviess

Travis Raber, North Daviess

JT May, Shakamak

Will Miller, Shakamak

Jaden Johnson, Shakamak

Max Hostetter, White River Valley

Honorable mention

Tucker Lent, Bloomfield

Michael Tucker, Clay City

Jamison Fields, Linton

Lane Davis, White River Valley

Kobe Morehouse, White River Valley

SWIAC team, girls

Lulu Koehler, Clay City

Keylee Hudson, Eastern Greene

Mallorie Elliott, Eastern Greene

Bradie Chambers, Linton

Sydney Jerrells, Linton

Addisyn McKee, Linton

Jalyn Davidson, North Central

Shelby Seay, North Central

Samantha Secrest, North Central

Delaney Zorman, North Daviess

Lanie Corneluis, North Daviess

Elayni Stone, Shakamak

Madelyn Kennett, Shakamak

Izzy Avila, White River Valley

Brynna Walton, White River Valley

Honorable mention

Jaeden Mietus, Bloomfield

Bianca Wyatt, Eastern Greene

Bella Franklin, Linton

Chase Hammond, Shakamak

Reese Graves, White River Valley


Boone Holtsclaw, Bloomfield

Findlay Jarman, Bloomfield

Josie Astafan, Bloomfield

Caden Bettenbrock, Clay City

Alexis Thompson, Clay City

Jackson Arthur, Clay City

Jonas Hawk, Eastern Greene

Maddox Ault, Eastern Greene

Justin Brown, Linton

Lauren Bedwell, Linton

Payton Landis, Linton

William Wells, North Central

Hayden Gilbert, North Central

Luke Graber, North Daviess

Aiden Pridemore, North Daviess

Carter Jessie, North Daviess

Natalie Hardesty, Shakamak

Sydney Furman, Shakamak

Logan Strauser, White River Valley

Ande Martin, White River Valley

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: